Posted in Food allergies, Frustrated Aspie, Thoughts

Trying to get by but sick again.

My letter from the NDIS came on Friday, so I can let my letterbox go back to growing spider webs now. I called this morning and have an appointment for 3pm today. I’m curious to see what they have set up for me. Or maybe I need to tell them what I want, I don’t know, I’ll just wait and see.

I also have been Ill so had to visit the doctor again. I have an ear infection, again, so I need antibiotics, again. I went to a pharmacy called Blooms. I don’t like them, I think their prices are expensive, but I didn’t have time or the energy to take a long train trip to get to a cheaper pharmacy.

Normally, I find loud music and radio shops play very annoying, but this day, I thought it could have been dangerous. I have allergies, so the pharmacist have to ask me about them, which is a good thing, I want them to ask me about my allergies. But what I don’t want, isย  to be deafened by loud music or radio while trying to ask if maybe this medicine could possibly kill me.

I say this a lot, but how is this a thing that happens? I get shops playing music. If you by vitamins, you probably won’t die if you eat too much kale powder, but if you can’t hear your pharmacist tell you not to take this medicine with kale powder, or not to use heavy machinery, or other helpful things,ย  and I can’t hear the, whose fault it that?

Some could argue that I should just “go somewhere else”, but no, that’s exclusion bullying. I need medicine, the pharmacy has been given a license by the Australian Government, so legally, I can use any pharmacy and they can’t discriminate against me.

Don’t they have a legal obligation to make sure their client knows how to take the medicine they have been issued correctly, and also warn of any side effects?

I’m truly stuck. I don’t want to purchase from Blooms, but its easier than going to the main street and fighting for parking, or climbing mountains just to get to a shop to save a few dollars. If they turned the radio and music off completely, I wouldn’t mind going in as much, but after last time, I’m not impressed.

(I just remembered that at some train stations they plain classical music to scare people away, especially teens. Is this what shops are doing?)

Leave a comment if you have had the same situation and tell me who you think the music is for? The clients (hint: its not) or the staff?

ยฉ ASD and me 2019

Author:

Im kind of burnt out with blogging after doing it for 11 years. taking a break. Only had this blog to attract publishers anyway.

8 thoughts on “Trying to get by but sick again.

      1. I actually don’t like telling people about my disabilities. I’ll need to explain a lot of things for them to understand and I really don’t want to do that. I’m not in there much, so i’ll just deal with it then leave.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I have done that in the past at other places, but I’ve found that people don’t like me asking, as nicely as I can, if they could please turn the music down. A staff member at Big W seemed annoyed and replied rudely that the music wasn’t loud and she couldn’t notice it.
      So I left.
      I have also been told in the past I’m too sensitive, I’m making a fuss for attention and other comments.
      Now I just avoid entering some shops simply because of the music volume.
      I’m looking into buying more stuff online. I bought a tape measure so I can buy some clothing online.
      Thanks for the reply. I’m glad to see you like my blog ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I also have tinnitus so sometimes music or even cars driving past can start it.
        I’ve tried the small orange earplugs, but they make my ears canal itchy. The best earplugs I’ve tried were long yellow ones I used during my MRI. Most people I’ve spoken to say they are hate how claustrophobic the MRI is, but I was more worried about the noise.
        I have written notes in the past and they haven’t worked out well for me. Even if I was trying to be discreet and not embarrass anyone, so I’m not comfortable writing notes now.
        I’m feeling better now, so there’s no need for me to go in the pharmacy again.
        Thanks for your nice comments ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.